74: Out of Time (Three-Color Swirl LP)

Sale price$28.98


Pressed on Magenta, Sky Blue & Lemon Swirl vinyl!

Housed in reverse board jackets with illustrated inner board sleeves. 

 Limited to just 100 copies worldwide!

Ol’ Burger Beats' new opus, 74: Out of Time, is a multifaceted and stunning exploration of sounds and eras. In addition to every track being produced at 74 beats per minute, the album harks back to the year 1974; particularly the music, the records, the activism, the artwork, and the aesthetics. But it’s also incredibly current, as the Out of Time portion of the title very much refers to the present. It promotes a sense of urgency in the face of current affairs such as the COVID-19 pandemic, climate change, as well as contentious politics sweeping across the US and Europe.

Beyond those deeply resonating elements to the record, 74: Out of Time is a truly gorgeous representation of hip-hop through the lens of the Norwegian composer, which is undoubtedly his most ambitious undertaking to date. Using 74bpm as his basis, he constructs sublime, jazzy instrumentals that feature some of hip-hop’s finest emcees and vocalists. And to say they all gel perfectly together is an understatement—and it would be underselling OBB’s meticulous approach here.

Each song blends seamlessly from one to the next spread across the album’s 17 tracks, with the help from a standout supporting cast that includes Fly Anakin, Awon, Quelle Chris, Pink Siifu, Yungmorpheus, Lojii, billy woods, Tha God Fahim, Vic Spencer and Vuyo, among several others.


Side A:
A1. Free Form (feat. lojii, Ill Camille)
A2. How I Live (feat. Lil B, Vic Spencer)
A3. For The Family (feat. Awon)
A4. Daybreaks (Interlude)
A5. Running (feat. Pink Siifu)
A6. Out of Time (feat. Ill Camille)
A7. Black Sabbath (feat. billy woods, Tha God Fahim)
A8. Change The World (feat. MoRuf)
Side B:
B1. Peace (feat. Yungmorpheus)
B2. For You (feat. MoRuf)
B3. The Last Of Us (feat. Quelle Chris)
B4. Count Your Blessings (feat. lojii)
B5. PGO (feat. Oliver the 2nd)
B6. Stories (feat. J’von, Vuyo)
B7. Recuperating (feat. Gabe ‘Nandez, Fly Anakin)
B8. Discipline 74 (Interlude)
B9. Holler Back (feat. Kooley High)

  • “Norwegian producer Ol’ Burger Beats listens to jazz—and lots of it. His sample-heavy catalog attests to deep crates filled with the discographies of genre greats and forgotten, dust-coated gems.” -Bandcamp
  • “An avid record collector, the producer's first release was 2014's High Rhodes which led to comparisons to his heroes such as J Dilla, Madlib and Pete Rock.” -Okayafrica
  • “With music teachers for parents, it was perhaps inevitable that Ole-Birger Neergård would follow their path and become a student of the game.” -Passion of the Weiss


More from Ol' Burger Beats