Black Messiah (2xLP)

Sale price$27.98


The long-awaited follow-up to the critically acclaimed album VOODOO. Nearly 15 years in the making, BLACK MESSIAH released in 2014 contains 12 tracks of timeless music with poignant and provocative lyrics that require repeat listening at maximum volume! On the album, D'Angelo is joined by his band, the Vanguard, alongside Pino Palladino, James Gadson and Questlove on various tracks.  All lyrics were written by D'Angelo in addition to Q-Tip and Kendra Foster who both wrote lyrics on several songs. With the high quality of live musicianship featured on the album, it's important to note that "No digital 'plug-ins' of any kind were used in this recording. All of the recording, processing, effects and mixing was done in the analog domain using tape and mostly vintage equipment."

Packaged in a gatefold jacket with printed booklet. 


A1        Ain't That Easy
A2        1000 Deaths
A3        The Charade
B1        Sugah Daddy
B2        Really Love
C1        Back To the Future (Part I)
C2        Till It's Done (Tutu)
C3        Prayer
D1        Betray My Heart
D2        The Door
D3        Back To the Future (Part II)
D4        Another Life


More from D'Angelo & The Vanguard