Buhloone Mindstate (Cassette)

Sale price$18.98


 It might blow up, but it won't go pop! 

De La Soul’s third studio release, Buhloone Mindstate, released on September 21, 1993, saw the group evolve into a new sound as they continued to grow stylistically and musically. There were several moments on the album which proved the band had matured. "I Be Blowin'" was a departure as the track was an instrumental featuring saxophone playing by Maceo Parker. The introspective "I Am I Be" showed De La Soul at their most self-referential to date. "Long Island Wildin'" was a collaboration with Japanese hip hop artists Kan Takagi (Major Force) and trio Scha Dara Parr (SDP). The album's first single, "Breakadawn", used a sample of Michael Jackson's "I Can't Help It" and Smokey Robinson's "Quiet Storm". De La Soul collaborated for the first time with Gang Starr's Guru on "Patti Dooke", and female MC Shortie No Mas who was prominent on many tracks on the album and showcased particularly on "In The Woods". The album ended with an old school Biz Markie collaboration called "Stone Age".


A1 Eye Patch 
A2 En Focus
A3 Patti Dooke feat Guru
A4 I Be Blowin'
A5 Ego Trippin' (Part Two) 
B1 3 Days Later 
B2 Area 
B3 I Am I Be
B4 In The Woods
B5 Breakadawn 
B6 Stone Age feat Biz Markie 

Estimate shipping


More from De La Soul