Color Him Father (LP + 12")

Sold Out

Sale price$34.98


What do Tyler the Creator, Mantronix, Stetsasonic, DJ Shadow, Eric B and Rakim, Brand Nubian, Jay-Z and N.W.A. have in common? What do UK Apachi and Shy FX, DJ Zinc, Bukem, Ganja Kru, Lemon D Ice, Dillinga, Photek, 4-Hero, Congo Natty, Krome and Time, Roni Size, Skream and Shut Up and Dance have in common? Not to mention The Prodigy, Squarepusher, Leftfield, Oasis, Aphex Twin, Calvin Harris, Dua Lipa, David Bowie, Primal Scream, Lady Gaga and Dizzee Rascal? Answer: They have all sampled The Winstons’ ‘Amen, Brother’! The Winstons’ ‘Amen, Brother’ is THE most sampled drum break in the history of music (over 5000+ according to and has shaped the evolution of electronic music ever since its creation in 1969. This is the official release of the Winston’s ‘Color Him Father’ album, out of print for fifty years on vinyl, a glorious break-heavy album of soul, funk and gospel featuring the single ‘Color Him Father’, ‘Amen, Brother’ and loads more! The fully remastered album is housed in exact-reproduction original sleeve and design and comes with 4 extra bonus tracks that the group released only as singles (first pressing comes with bonus dubplate special 12” extended break mix of classic ‘Amen, Brother’). The Winstons’ ‘Amen, Brother’ was originally the B-side to ‘Color Him Father’ a superb soul tune released by the multi-racial group from Washington, DC, in 1969. The song was based on a Curtis Mayfield guitar riff and drum break was played by George G.C. Coleman. ‘Color Him Father’ became a million-selling no. 1 R&B hit single in the US and the following year the Winstons released their debut (and only) album of the same name – a superb rare slice of soul, funk and gospel music that has changed the course of music over the last fifty years!


A1 Color Him Father
A2 I've Gotta Be Me
A3 The Chokin' Kind
A4 The Greatest Love
A5 A Handful Of Friends
A6 Everyday People
A7 Love Of The Common People
A8 Wheel Of Fortune
B1 The Days Of Sand And Shovels
B2 Birds Of A Feather
B3 Only The Strong Survive
B4 Traces
B5 Amen, Brother
B6 Say Goodbye To Daddy
B7 Mama's Song

Bonus 12 inch
C1 Amen, Brother (Extended Mix)


More from The Winstons