Disco Roar (LP)

Sale price$24.98


The re-discovered third album by India’s best known psychedelic-rock ensemble, presented in its entirety. Covers of Deodato, Stevie Wonder and “Spectrum,” the heaviest Indian psych-funk jam unearthed to date. Over the course of four years, culminating in 2011, we at Now-Again Records assembled the Atomic Forest anthology Obsession, which delved into and told the story of India’s 70s rock underground and this psychedelic ensemble’s story. At the time we issued Obsession, we were not aware of the third album that the Atomic Forest had recorded, issued under Kanga’s name as Disco Roar. When it came to our attention, we figured that we owed it to anyone entranced by this hard-to-believe, underground, Indian rock scene to issue it. One track in particular stands out – another riff on Cobham’s “Spectrum.” It, in and of itself, is a worthy reason for this reissue – one of the toughest examples of psychedelic-funk music to come out of India. This is the first album that the Atomic Forest recorded. 


A1 2001 Space Odyssey
A2 Life Is Anew
A3 Proud Mary
A4 Devil Woman
A5 You Are On My Mind
A6 Thank You Lord
A7 Smack Water Jack
B1 Spectrum
B2 I Wish
B3 Rock-N-Roll
B4 Disco Queen
B5 Night In White Satin
B6 Another Star


More from Atomic Forest