James Brown's Funky People Part 1 (2xLP)

Sold Out

Sale price$24.99 Regular price$29.99


Some have made the claim that Get On Down may love James Brown just a little too much. To which the label replies, its not possible to love James Brown too much. The labels welcome obsession with Mr. Brown and the incredible line up of talent found on his People Record imprint continues with the reissue of Funky People Part 1.

Funky People Part 1 features the top tier of artists from Browns People Records label, including The J.B.s, Lyn Collins, Fred Wesley and Maceo Parker. Some of the James Brown organizations all-time best material is collected here, including The J.B.s Pass The Peas and Hot Pants Road, Fred Wesleys in your face politics through funk statement Damn Right, I Am Somebody, Lyn Collins smash hit Think (About It) and many more.  These songs have been sampled in countless hip-hop songs over the years. 

Newcomers and diehard fans alike continue to dig into the James Brown and People Records vaults, and the more they do so, the more they realize that its a nearly never ending source of truly next-level funk and soul music. And you can be sure this aural goodness will keep flowing to the public, thanks to the exhaustive efforts of Get On Down.


A1 The J.B.'s– Gimme Some More 
A2 The J.B.'s– Pass The Peas 
A3 Lyn Collins– Think (About It) 
B1 The J.B.'s– Givin' Up Food For Funk (Part 1) 
B2 Lyn Collins– Mama Feel Good 
B3 The J.B.'s– Hot Pants Road 
C1 Lyn Collins– Rock Me Again & Again & Again & Again & Again & Again 
C2 Fred Wesley & The JB's– Damn Right, I Am Somebody (Part 1) 
C3 Lyn Collins– Take Me As I Am 
D1 Fred Wesley & The JB's– If You Don't Get It The First Time, Back Up And Try It Again 
D2 Maceo & The Macks– Paarty (Part 1) 
D3 Fred & The New J.B.'s– (Its Not The Express) Its The JB's Monaurail (Part 1) 
D4 Fred Wesley & The JB's– Same Beat (Part 1)


More from The James Brown Revue