Livin Proof (2xLP)

Sold Out

Sale price$29.98


One of the more unsung talents that came out of the Gang Starr Foundation was the Brooklyn-based duo Group Home, consisting of MCs Lil Dap and Melachi The Nutcracker. Dap was first showcased on the Gang Starr posse cut Im The Man, on 1992s Daily Operation; Melachi appeared on Words From The Nutcracker from 1993s Hard To Earn. The early Group Home song So Called Friends was also featured on 1993s now-legendary Gangstarr Foundation Sampler, which also gave the world Jerus Come Clean.

By 1995, Dap and Melachi had paid their dues and finally got their own full-length: Livin Proof. And it was everything that Gang Starr and any true school hip-hop fans could have wanted, produced almost entirely by DJ Premier (with two exceptions: Serious Rap Shit helmed by Guru himself; and 4 Give My Sins, produced by Jay-Z mentor Jaz-O (aka Big Jazz).

Beyond the albums classic singles – Supa Star, Livin Proof and Suspended In Time – there are Premier-overseen classics all over, including The Realness, Inna Citi Life, and Sacrifice. In fact, many Gang Starr scholars agree that the beats on Living Proof are in the Top 5 of all Premier-produced albums – no small boast, but certainly hard to disprove.


A1 Intro
A2 Inna Citi Life
A3 Livin' Proof
A4 Serious Rap Shit
B1 Suspended In Time
B2 Sacrifice
B3 Up Against The Wall (Low Budget Mix)
C1 4 Give My Sins
C2 Baby Pa
C3 2 Thousand
D1 Supa Star
D2 Up Against Tha Wall (Getaway Car Mix)
D3 Tha Realness



More from Group Home