Love Is Gone - The Lost Sessions: 1969-1977 (3xLP)

Sale price$55.98


Previously unreleased soul and funk from legendary Atlanta guitarist/singer/songwriter Richard Marks, the companion piece to our Never Satisfied anthology. These songs, found on reels that Marks kept in his home, color Marks' stylistic development - from his earliest work for the legendary Tuska label in the late ‘60s, through his more mature releases on smaller regional labels into the late ‘70s. Marks' story is that of an unsung soul and funk hero; he was a guitarist, vocalist and songwriter whose phone number was in Al Green's, Barry White's and Eddie Kendricks' rolodexes, but his talents have only been heard in sporadic bursts. He and his music are unknown to the majority, but to an obsessive minority, he is a lightning rod: that singular point at which numerous Southern soul and funk musicians converged and exploded, spreading wondrous music in all directions. Marks died of cancer in May 2006. His first album was Never Satisfied, released posthumously. He stands out as a most mysterious talent to originate from Atlanta, a city that birthed no shortage of genius, and Love Is Gone – The Lost Sessions 1969-1977 further makes the case for a reassessment of his talents and his place in the soul and funk canon. Bonus second LP, previously available only to subscribers and offered here, contains extra tracks. It also contains an extensive booklet by Brian Poust detailing Marks’ story. Download card for WAV files included with LP.


A1 Your Friends (Broke Up My Home)
A2 Trying To Survive
A3 It's Been Kinda Hard
A4 Down On Broadway
A5 I'm The Man For You (Master Tape Version)
A6 Crackerjack (Master Tape Version)
A7 Never Satisfied (Master Tape Version)
B1 Love And Hate
B2 Don't Need Your Love
B3 I'm With You Love (Acoustic Version)
B4 Coming Back Home To You
B5 People In The World Today
B6 Simple, Carefree Life
B7 Challenge To A Pretty Woman
C1 On A Minors Tour
C2 I Don't Want To Cry
C3 Love Is Gone (Alternate Version)
C4 Speak Now (Alternate Version)
C5 Don't Take It Out On Me
C6 China Doll (Extended Version)
D1 Freeway Crowd (Instrumental)
D2 Working Hard (Instrumental)
D3 China Doll (Short Version)
D4 She's A Real Woman
D5 Untitled (Instrumental)
D6 Sugar, Sugar (How I Want To Be Your Man)
E1 Love Is Gone (Alternate Version Two)
E2 Weaker Than Love, Stronger Than Temptation
E3 Mistreated / Defeated
E4 Picture Baby (Alternate Version)
E5 Party!
F1 I Can't Stand (Being Without You)
F2 Picture Baby (Alternate Version Two)
F3 A World Of Plenty
F4 We Could Be Together Until Eternity
F5 Give Me The Problem That Money Won't Solve


More from Richard Marks