Pardon My French (LP)

Sale price$26.98


The Jahari Massamba Unit features Madlib on all instrumentation with the exception of drums, which are laid down by Karriem Riggins. Like Madlib, Riggins is well-versed in both the Jazz and Hip Hop worlds. Musically, Madlib’s label says: “We would call the project Spiritual Jazz, but jazz great Phil Ranelin told us to call it Black Classical Music, so that’s what we’re going with.”

This is an album put together by students of jazz in its myriad and historic forms who are also proponents of jazz’s future. The resulting recording reflects a lifetime of record collecting, musical study, woodshedding, and reverential respect for one another’s craft.
Regardless of categorization, this is an exciting and all-new entry in Madlib’s Yesterday’s New Quintet canon of difficult-to-categorize music.


A1 Je Prendrai Le Romanée-Conti
A2 Les Jardins Esméraldins
A3 Un Bordeaux Pré-Phylloxéra
A4 Deux Fakes Jayers
A5 Riesling Pour Robert
A6 Du Morgon Au Moulin-À-Vent
B1 Trou Du Cul
B2 Etude Montrachet
B3 Le Feu
B4 Merde
B5 Inestimable Le Clos
B6 La Closerie
B7 Hommage À La Vielle Grande


More from Jahari Massamba Unit


Your title