Sleeping With The Enemy (2xLP)

Sold Out

Sale price$42.99


Originally slated for a pre-presidential election release in 1992, this sophomore effort by Paris was intentionally suppressed by the recording establishment until after the election in November of that year. It caused a firestorm of controversy with two songs in particular, "Bush Killa," a revenge fantasy about the assasination of then president George Bush (Sr.) for neglect of poor conditions in oppressed communities nationwide, and, "Coffee, Donuts & Death," a cop-killing tirade intended to vent frustration at corrupt officers who rape, brutalize and kill black people at will. A precursor to the L.A. uprisings, the project was eventually released on Paris’ own Scarface Records after Time Warner shareholders and media pressure prevented then Warner-subsidiary Tommy Boy Records from releasing the project. Unapologetic in its defense of free speech and oppressed communities everywhere, Sleeping with the Enemy further upped the ante for lyrical content and cemented Paris’ place as one of the most introspective poets in rap.

Back in limited release, this sophomore effort from Paris is one of the rawest socially-conscious hip-hop albums ever. This definitive edition has been enhanced and reworked, and has provided the artist the rare opportunity to improve on the initial release by benefiting from advancements in technology previously unavailable. Also contains rare alternate versions.


A1 The Enema
A2 Make Way For A Panther
A3 Sleeping With The Enemy
A4 House Niggas Bleed Too
A5 Bush Killa
B1 Coffee, Donuts & Death
B2 Thinka 'Bout It
B3 Guerillas In The Mist
B4 The Days Of Old
B5 Long Hot Summer
C1 Conspirancy Of Silence
C2 Funky Lil' Party
C3 Check It Out Ch'All
C4 Rise
C5 Assata's Song
D1 Bush Killa (Hellraiser Mix)


More from Paris