Sons of Soul (2xLP)

Sale price$28.98


Sons of Soul is the 1993 third studio album by Tony! Toni! Toné! The band originally recorded for the album at several studios in California, including Westlake Recording Studios and Paradise Recording Studio. When they became jaded with the various people frequenting those studios, Tony! Toni! Toné! moved their sessions to Caribbean Sound Basin in Trinidad, where they ultimately wrote and recorded most of the album. Sons of Soul was produced entirely by the group, who worked with various session musicians and utilized both vintage and contemporary recording equipment. They intended to pay homage to their musical influences-classic soul artists of the 1960s and 1970s-and incorporated live instrumentation, funk, and hip hop elements such as samples and scratches. Lead singer and bassist Raphael Wiggins handled most of the songwriting, which featured quirky, flirtatious lyrics.


A1 If I Had No Loot
A2 What Goes Around Comes Around
A3 My Ex-Girlfriend
A4 Tell Me Mama
B1 Leavin'
B2 Slow Wine
B3 (Lay Your Head On My) Pillow
C1 I Couldn't Keep It To Myself
C2 Gangsta Groove
C3 Tonyies! In The Wrong Key
C4 Dance Hall
D1 Times Square 2:30A.M. (Segue)
D2 Fun
D3 Anniversary
D4 Castleers


More from Tony Toni Toné