Super Fly 50th Anniversary Soundtrack (2xLP)

Sale price$38.99


2xLP 50th anniversary edition expands the album with a bonus disc of demos and also includes a movie poster, new liner notes, never before seen photos and a custom turntable mat exclusive to this limited release.

Super Fly is the third studio album by American soul musician Curtis Mayfield, released in July 1972 on Curtom Records. It was released as the soundtrack for the Blaxploitation film of the same name. Widely considered a classic of 1970s soul and funk music, Super Fly was a nearly immediate hit. It's sales were bolstered by two million-selling singles, "Freddie's Dead" (number 2 R&B charts, number 4 Pop charts) and the title track (number 5 R&B, number 8 Pop). Super Fly is one of the few soundtracks to out-gross the film it accompanied. Super Fly, along with Marvin Gaye's What's Going On (1971), was one of the pioneering soul concept albums, with it's then-unique socially aware lyrics about poverty and drug abuse making the album stand out. The film and the soundtrack may be perceived as dissonant, since the film holds rather ambiguous views on drug dealers, whereas Curtis Mayfield's position is far more critical. Like What's Going On, the album was a surprise hit that record executives felt had little chance at significant sales. Due to it's success, Mayfield was tapped for several film soundtracks over the course of the decade. Sampled throughout hip-hop history by the likes of Ice-T, Snoop Dogg, The Geto Boys, Digable Planets, and hundreds more...this 50 Year Anniversary is edition is a must have classic! 


A1 Little Child Runnin' Wild
A2 Pusherman
A3 Freddie's Dead
A4 Junkie Chase (Instrumental)

B1 Give Me Your Love (Love Song)
B2 Eddie You Should Know Better
B3 No Thing on Me (Cocaine Song)
B4 Think (Instrumental)
B5 Superfly

C1 Freddie's Dead (Single Mix)
C2 Superfly (Single Mix)
C3 Ghetto Child (Demo Version of Little Child Runnin' Wild)
C4 Pusherman (Alternate Mix with Horns)
C5 Freddie's Dead (Instrumental)

D1 Junkie Chase (Full Length Instrumental Version)
D2 No Thing on Me (Cocaine Song) (Instrumental/Score Version)
D3 Militant March
D4 Eddie You Should Know Better (Instrumental Version)
D5 Radio Spot # 1
D6 The Underground (1970 Demo)
D7 Check Out Your Mind (Instrumental Studio Jam)
D8 Radio Spot #2



More from Curtis Mayfield


Your title