The Lost Tapes (Colored 2xLP)

Sold Out

Sale price$29.98


Pressed on Lime Green Vinyl!
Only 750 available worldwide

Before Madvillain, before Yesterday’s New Quintet and before Quasimoto or any other of his several alter egos, Madlib perfected his craft as an MC/producer in the Lootpack. Along with DJ Romes, and fellow rhymer Wildchild, they released the dusty full-length, Soundpieces: Da Antidote back in 1999, that laid down the foundation for the unique and dusty sound now associated with Madlib. The loose, freeform recordings on this collection, The Lost Tapes, are circa 1996 when the group was managed by Madlib’s father, and they show the now-renowned maverick producer in comparatively restrained form. Madlib’s scope and imagination was clearly fixated on East coast jazzy hip-hop production from the early ’90s, laying down soundscapes for his hungry crew including the likes of Kazi, Oh No, Kan Kick, Declaime and Medaphoar, who have all become well known underground rap vets. Madlib’s own strong mic presence is noticeable given his now only-on-rare-occasion rhyming, but it’s his production that is the most fascinating element here. While a resolutely hip-hop project, the burgeoning jazzy flourishes and Madlib’s heavily accomplished ear for sound makes the record an important starting point for adherents of his more recent exploratory work.



A1 Innersoul
A2 Interlude 1
A3 Psyche Move
A4 I Come Real With This (f. Kan Kick)
A5 Interlude 2
A6 Situation
B1 Get Whack (f. Declaime)
B2 Antidote To Da Antidope (f. God's Gift)
B3 Interlude 3
B4 Attack Of The Tupperware Puppets (f. Declaime, God's Gift, & Oh No)
B5 Interlude 4
B6 Forever Beef (f. Medaphoar & Oh No)
C1 What 'Cha Gotta Say? (f. Oh No)
C2 Interlude 5
C3 Miss Deja Vu
C4 I Declare War (f. Medaphoar & Oh No)
C5 Why Do We Go Out Like That? (f. Declaime)
D1 Make Your Ears Want To Bleed (f. Kazi)
D2 Interlude 6
D3 Female Request Line
D4 Undisciplined (f. God's Gift
D5 Hip Hop



More from Lootpack


Your title